JIBC & Waterford Student Exchange

Home » Uncategorized » Introduction to WIT

Introduction to WIT

Categories

Kilkenny Castle

Kilkenny Castle

The first week of school, Waterford Institute of Technology (WIT) kindly set up a few events for all the international students. It was great to meet people from all around the globe, including a few other Canadians. One of the events was a day trip to Kilkenny, which was my favourite.

Connie and myself, started the trip by doing a tour of the Kilkenny Castle and it was absolutely stunning. Afterward, we decided to walk around the town and find some lunch. We discovered a little pub and I was so happy to have, what would probably be, one of many Irish stews.

A few of our classes were cancelled the first week which was a bit confusing, but I was able to get in contact with Walter O’Leary, who is one of the head coordinators for the Criminal Justice program. He was extremely helpful in helping choose the courses that would best suit me, as well as went out of his way to introduce us to the teachers. He even offered some great advice on a few weekend trips. My final decision for the three courses I will be taking are Irish Fundamental Rights; Incarceration and the Law; and Gender, Crime, and Criminal Justice.

WIT Campus

WIT Campus

Adjusting to the timetables over in Ireland has been tough, since instead of sitting in a class for three hours once a week, the classes are 45 minute lectures of which you attend three out of four, and they are spaced out throughout the week. All of my classes, luckily, are in the same building which is a close walk to home. As the days go on, I am learning more and more about the history and culture of Waterford and it is truly amazing.

Jaymi


Leave a comment