JIBC & Waterford Student Exchange

Home » Uncategorized » Goodbye to Ireland

Goodbye to Ireland

Categories

December 17th rolled around quickly, and before I knew it I had completed my last exam. The relief I felt after walking out of the examination hall was overwhelming. Now, I just have to wait for my results, which will not be available until January 20th. As well, today I picked up my class hoodie from the students rep office, and it finally hit me that my time in Ireland has almost come to an end. I have a few days left in Waterford, then I drive up to Dublin with Adam, Jen, and Connie, for our last night out together. The following day, I say goodbye to Connie at the airport and head off on my adventure around Europe. The time has flown by, as it seems like just yesterday I was taking off from Vancouver on my way to Ireland.

Looking back at it all, there is not one thing I would change. My teachers have been fantastic and have truly gone out of their way to help me, and the friends I have made here hold a special place in my heart. It has been relatively convenient having everything as close as it has been, which made getting around easy. The weather has, for the most part, been on our side, however, I did experience a few days of floods which limited my options on going out. It is all about the experience though, just have to invest in an umbrella!

Most of all, I would like to thank Connie for being my rock while I have been here. I could not imagine this experience without her. It’s been exciting talking about our future career plans and what is in store for us when we return home. Although, at this very moment, I am still unsure but it sure is fun to think about.

This has been an amazing opportunity and has taught me a lot, and I have gained a lot of insight into the Criminal Justice program, here in Ireland. My advice for anyone who chooses to take part in the exchange program, is to take advantage of everything Ireland has to offer but provide yourself with balance. Adjusting to the curriculum was a bit of an obstacle, because the grading system is different but if you pre­plan your trips and make sure you dedicate time to all your assignments you’ll be “grand” (as the Irish say)!

Jaymi Kuniss


Leave a comment